my account  |  view cart
Search for  
board / staff

JAMES GINSBURG founded Cedille Records in 1989 while a law student at the University of Chicago. At the end of 1993, he founded Cedille Chicago, NFP (fka The Chicago Classical Recording Foundation), the not-for-profit organization that now owns and operates Cedille. The creation of the Foundation allowed Cedille Records to greatly expand the scope of its recording activity to include all genres of classical music while continuing and codifying its mission of preserving and promoting the work of Chicago's finest classical musicians. Over the past 20+ years, Cedille — Chicago's only independent classical label and the only label devoted to the classical musicians of a single metropolitan area — has documented for posterity on audiophile-quality recordings the work of important Chicago composers, and Chicago musicians ranging from soloists to chamber ensembles, orchestras, choruses, and the Chicago Opera Theater.

Prior to founding Cedille, Mr. Ginsburg had worked for Nonesuch Records in New York and reviewed numerous recordings for the American Record Guide. He personally directs Cedille Records' recording sessions, working closely with artists and engineers to maintain the label's outstanding reputation for musical and sonic excellence. Mr. Ginsburg has produced over 100 recordings for Cedille and other labels, including two Grammy nominees. In 2009, the Chicago Tribune named Mr. Ginsburg a "Chicagoan of the Year" in the Arts; in 2010, he received an Arts Achievement Award from The Helen Coburn Meier and Tim Meier Charitable Foundation; and in 2011, the Chicago Jewish News named him a "Jewish Chicagoan of the Year."

Board of Directors
Cedille Chicago’s Board of Directors provides guidance on the selection of artists and repertory to be recorded, and is also responsible for administrative and financial oversight of the organization. The Board consists of:

James Ginsburg, President
David Rotholz, Board Chair - Senior Vice President, Mesirow Financial
Henry Fogel - Dean, Chicago College of Performing Arts
Barbara Haws - Archivist/Historian, New York Philharmonic
Ronna Hoffberg - President, Audience Logic
William Josephson - Of Counsel, Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP
Eva Lichtenberg, PhD - Clinical Psychologist
Edward F. Malone - Partner, Barack Ferrazzano Kirschbaum & Nagelberg LLP
Greg O’Leary - Principal, Portfolio Manager & Chief Compliance Officer Chesley, Taft & Associates
Stephanie Oberhausen - Director of Principal Gifts, The University of Chicago
Rachel Barton Pine - violinist
Steve Robinson - Executive Vice President, WFMT and WFMT Radio Network

James Ginsburg, President
Julie Polanski, Director of Development
Nancy Bieschke, Production Manager
Bill Maylone, Recording Engineer
Bill Flowers, Business Manager
Charles Palys, Development and Production Associate