my account  |  view cart
Search for  
Keyboard  Mexican Piano Music by Manuel M. Ponce 
Mexican Piano Music by Manuel M. Ponce
$16.00  Buy 1 'Mexican Piano Music by Manuel M. Ponce - cd' now

Select Download Type
mp3 (256 kbps) download $7.00
flac 16-bit (CD Quality) download $10.00

FLAC files are NOT compatible with all players. Check your manual or select the mp3 download format if you are not sure.

Download the Single Tracks from iTunes

Mexican Piano Music by Manuel M. Ponce
Jorge Federico Osorio, piano
Cedille Records CDR 90000 086

Celebrated Mexican-born pianist Jorge Federico Osorio showcases solo piano works by his countryman, Manuel Ponce (1882-1948), who revolutionized Mexican music by fusing indigenous native and Spanish sounds with European classical forms.

Osorio's persuasive performances show why Ponce's eloquent landmarks of Mexican Romanticism deserve to be as popular in the U.S. as they are in Latin America and Europe.

"Osorio plays all of these pieces masterfully, with virtuosity to spare and a natural expressiveness that never compromises the music's freshness and spontaneity. If I had to choose one highlight, it would probably be the Suite cubana, a marvelous exploration of Latino musical folklore cast as a triptych in the manner of Debussy's Images. But then, there are no dead spots, musically or interpretively, and the engineering offers the last word in sonic realism. In short, this is an absolutely wonderful disc by any measure. (
Click here to download the CD booklet.

Click the Cedille Player at the upper left to hear excerpts from the tracks highlighted in red below. These have been carefully chosen as representative of the recording program.

Program (74:40)

Manuel M. Ponce (1882-1948)

Canciones Mexicanas
1 "Estrellita...." (2:36)
2 "La barca del marino...." (2:28)
3 "Cuiden su vida" (4:14)

Estudios de concierto
4 No. 7, "Juventud" (2:09)
5 No. 12, "La vida sonrie" (5:07)
6 No. 3, "Hacia la cima" (3:36)

From "Trozos romanticos"
7 Souvenir (1:50)
8 Quimera (2:07)
9 Deseo (1:55)
10 Hoja de album (2:39)
11 Legende (5:38)

12 No. 3 in A-flat Major (2:31)
13 No. 8 in C-Sharp Minor (2:46)
14 No. 9 in G Minor (2:49)
15 No. 11 in A Minor (2:57)
16 No. 13 in F Minor (2:22)
17 No. 14 in D-Flat Major (2:27)
18 No. 16 in B-Flat Minor (3:18)
19 No. 23 in A Minor (3:27)

Suite cubana (12:27)
20 1. Serenata marina (3:06)
21 2. Plenilunio (4:11)
22 3. Paz de ocaso (5:03)

Deux Etudes pour piano (A Artur Rubinstein) (3:52)
23 I. Allegretto mosso ma espressivo (2:43)
24 II. Allegro non troppo (1:09)

Producer: James Ginsburg / Engineer: Bill Maylone / Recorded: July 12 & 13, 2005 at WFMT-Chicago / Steinway Piano / Piano Technician: William Schwartz / Microphones: Sennheiser MKH 40, Schoeps MK 21 / Graphic Design: Melanie Germond & Pete Goldlust / Front Cover: "Recoleccion de cosecha" ("Taking in the Harvest") by Inocencio Jimenez Chino (Oapan, Mexico), 1994